Maetel's JUKEBOX : Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - Going To A Go-Go (1964), Away We A-Go-Go (1965)


Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - Going To A Go-Go (1964) Away We A-Go-Go (1965)



にほんブログ村 音楽ブログへ にほんブログ村 音楽ブログ CDレビューへ にほんブログ村 動画紹介ブログ 音楽動画へ にほんブログ村 ファッションブログ アクセサリーへ 人気ブログランキング

Most mid-'60s pop and R&B albums are like Hamburger Helper: a little meat and a lot of filler. But Smokey Robinson and the Miracles gratifyingly confound that notion on the first half of this two-album collection. Not surprisingly, it's also the first album to give vocalist-writer-producer Robinson star billing in his veteran band. Cut in the midst of producing chores for the Temptations and Marvin Gaye (Robinson was also a Motown label VP), Going to a Go-Go was something of a minor tour de force for Robinson, who cowrote all but one of the album's songs. Although its name refers to a partying dance craze (the origins of the infectious hit title track), it's an album largely centered around bittersweet, emotionally charged hits like "Tracks of My Tears" and "Ooo Baby Baby," as well as unusually strong cuts like "My Girl Has Gone" and "A Fork in the Road." By contrast, the second half here often sounds haphazard and less focused, as could be expected from a quickly produced sequel to a massive hit. Still, Robinson's glorious tenor illuminates even such standard fare as "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me." Previously unreleased bonus tracks include the stereo mix of "It's Fantastic," a fellow Away We Go-Go outtake of the lounge standard "Goin' Out of My Head," and a glorious, impassioned 1966 live rendition of "A Fork in the Road." --Jerry McCulley

01 - The Tracks of My Tears
02 - Going to a Go-Go
03 - Ooo Baby Baby
04 - My Girl Has Gone
05 - In Case You Need Love
06 - Choosey Beggar
07 - Since You Won My Heart
08 - From Head to Toe
09 - All That's Good
10 - My Baby Changes Like the Weather
11 - Let Me Have Some
12 - A Fork in the Road
13 - Whole Lot of Shakin' in My Heart (Since I Met You)
14 - You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
15 - (Come 'Round Here) I'm the One You Need
16 - Save Me
17 - Oh Be My Love
18 - Can You Love a Poor Boy
19 - Beauty Is Only Skin Deep
20 - I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself
21 - Baby Baby
22 - Walk on By
23 - Swept for You Baby
24 - More, More, Of Your Love
25 - It's Fantastic (Bonus - Previously Unreleased)
26 - Goin' Out of My Head (Bonus - Previously Unreleased)
27 - A Fork in the Road (Bonus - Live - Previously Unreleased)

0 コメント:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...